# forck.live — 10–16 May 2021

> AI lab announcements, news reports and podcasts.

forck.live follows what companies announce about their own products. Press may
corroborate an official story; it never leads and never appears as an item of its
own. A missing date stays missing. A title is the publisher's words — where a
company does not publish in English, an English rendering is listed separately
as `Title in English` and named as this site's translation, never as theirs.

This file is one issue of the weekly archive: every confirmed
first-party announcement of ISO week 2021-W19, 10–16 May 2021, newest
first. The window never moves, so this URL always names the same seven days —
but a post published inside them and detected later is added when it arrives,
so a closed week can still gain entries.

Every entry is one first-party announcement, and carries the same eight fields
in this order before any others:

    Company · Announced · Category · Coverage · Announcement · Group · Source · Record

`Source` is the company's own page the announcement was traced to and `Record`
is this site's page for it. Both are safe to cite.

`Coverage` is a number of outlets, or `not counted` — which means this record
reached no count of its own, never that nobody wrote about it.

`Category` is this tracker's own analysis, and is authoritative wherever it is
stated. `not stated` means either that nothing has analysed the post yet or
that the analysis placed it outside this taxonomy; neither is a verdict about
the announcement.

`Announcement` is whether the post is news of something the company did, rather
than a how-to, a customer story, a changelog listing or a staffing note.

`Group` is which of this record's groups the entry falls in, carried on the
entry itself so it holds where the groups are headings and where they are not.
One of: `models`, `covered`, `announcements`, `routine`.

Anything after `Record` is held detail that only some announcements carry.

- This week's page: https://forck.live/week/2021-W19
- The current issue, and the catalogue of the other weeks: https://forck.live/briefing.md
- Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt

## Announcements

### Replit — Replit Apps

- Company: Replit (replit.com)
- Announced: 2021-05-12T08:15:20+00:00
- Category: not stated
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: no
- Group: routine
- Source: https://replit.com/blog/apps
- Record: https://forck.live/items/18087-replit-apps
- Subject: Replit Agent

Replit launched Apps, a gallery for browsing and discovering community-created repls including games, generative art, and machine learning models. Users can publish their own repls with descriptions, cover images, and tags. Future plans include installing apps to a Replit account and easier collaboration.

### LG AI Research — Researcher Jongseong Jang’s Story of AI Research in Toronto

- Company: LG AI Research (lgresearch.ai)
- Announced: 2021-05-11
- Category: not stated
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: no
- Group: routine
- Source: https://www.lgresearch.ai/blog/view?seq=80
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4993-researcher-jongseong-jang-s-story-of-ai-research-in-toronto
- Subject: EXAONE

This is a personal story about an LG AI researcher, not an AI product or model announcement.

### OpenAI — OpenAI Scholars 2021: Final projects

- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Announced: 2021-05-10T07:00:00+00:00
- Category: not stated
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: no
- Group: routine
- Source: https://openai.com/index/openai-scholars-2021-final-projects
- Record: https://forck.live/items/933-openai-scholars-2021-final-projects
- Subject: GPT / ChatGPT / API

OpenAI announces the completion of the 2021 OpenAI Scholars mentorship program, where participants produced open-source research projects with stipends and support from OpenAI.
