# xAI — Grok 4.6

> AI lab announcements, news reports and podcasts.

forck.live follows what companies announce about their own products. Press may
corroborate an official story; it never leads and never appears as an item of its
own. A missing date stays missing. A title is the publisher's words — where a
company does not publish in English, an English rendering is listed separately
as `Title in English` and named as this site's translation, never as theirs.

This file is the record of one model version: what the model registry states
about it, xAI's launch post, the first-party posts this record
holds about it, the outlets that reported on those posts, and other companies'
announcements that it runs on their platforms. A model ranks nothing here and
nothing is composed: each date names whose it is, and a field nothing states is
`not stated` rather than missing.

- This model's page: https://forck.live/models/grok-4-6
- xAI's page: https://forck.live/company/xai
- Every model: https://forck.live/models
- Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt

## Model

- Name: Grok 4.6
- Company: xAI (x.ai)
- Launch post: Introducing Grok 4.6 — https://forck.live/items/4347-introducing-grok-4-6
- Announced: 2026-08-12
- Launch source: https://x.ai/news/grok-4-6
- Launch chosen by: a person, pinned in the model registry
- Released (per models.dev): 2026-08-12
- Listed (per OpenRouter): 2026-08-12
- Open weights: no
- Posts about it: 5
- Outlets named under its posts: 2
- OpenRouter id: x-ai/grok-4.6 — https://openrouter.ai/x-ai/grok-4.6
- Context window: 500k context window — from https://forck.live/items/4491-grok-4-6-on-microsoft-foundry
- Price: $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens — from https://forck.live/items/4347-introducing-grok-4-6

## Posts about it

_xAI's own posts whose title names Grok 4.6, and its launch post, in the record's order: dated newest first, undated last. The record reads the newest 50 first-party posts mentioning the model, every company's together, so a model mentioned more often than that lists the newest of them._

Every entry is one first-party announcement, and carries the same eight fields
in this order before any others:

    Company · Announced · Category · Coverage · Announcement · Group · Source · Record

`Source` is the company's own page the announcement was traced to and `Record`
is this site's page for it. Both are safe to cite.

`Coverage` is a number of outlets, or `not counted` — which means this record
reached no count of its own, never that nobody wrote about it.

`Category` is this tracker's own analysis, and is authoritative wherever it is
stated. `not stated` means either that nothing has analysed the post yet or
that the analysis placed it outside this taxonomy; neither is a verdict about
the announcement.

`Announcement` is whether the post is news of something the company did, rather
than a how-to, a customer story, a changelog listing or a staffing note.

`Group` is which of this record's groups the entry falls in, carried on the
entry itself so it holds where the groups are headings and where they are not.
One of: `models`, `covered`, `announcements`, `routine`.

Anything after `Record` is held detail that only some announcements carry.

### xAI — Grok 4.6 on Microsoft Foundry

- Company: xAI (x.ai)
- Announced: 2026-08-26
- Category: availability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://x.ai/news/grok-4-6-microsoft-foundry
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4491-grok-4-6-on-microsoft-foundry
- Subject: Grok

xAI announces that Grok 4.6 is now available on Microsoft Foundry, offering a 500k context window and configurable reasoning efforts.

### xAI — Grok 4.6 on Google Enterprise Agent Platform

- Company: xAI (x.ai)
- Announced: 2026-08-21
- Category: availability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://x.ai/news/grok-4-6-vertex-ai
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4343-grok-4-6-on-google-enterprise-agent-platform
- Subject: Grok

xAI announces that Grok 4.6 is now available on Google Enterprise Agent Platform via Model Garden, with a 500k context window, configurable reasoning efforts, and per-token pricing for input, cached input, and output.

### xAI — Grok 4.6 on Amazon Bedrock

- Company: xAI (x.ai)
- Announced: 2026-08-19
- Category: availability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://x.ai/news/grok-4-6-amazon-bedrock
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4344-grok-4-6-on-amazon-bedrock
- Subject: Grok

Grok 4.6 is now generally available on Amazon Bedrock, with a 500k context window and configurable reasoning efforts, at the stated pricing per million tokens.

### xAI — Grok 4.6 in GitHub Copilot

- Company: xAI (x.ai)
- Announced: 2026-08-14
- Category: availability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://x.ai/news/grok-4-6-github-copilot
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4346-grok-4-6-in-github-copilot
- Subject: Grok

Grok 4.6 is now available in GitHub Copilot, with API pricing at $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens.

### xAI — Introducing Grok 4.6

- Company: xAI (x.ai)
- Announced: 2026-08-12
- Category: model-update
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://x.ai/news/grok-4-6
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4347-introducing-grok-4-6
- Subject: Grok

xAI releases Grok 4.6, an update to Grok 4.5 focused on long-running agents, interactive and visual work, achieving frontier intelligence on several benchmarks, available in Cursor, Grok Build, API, and partners, with pricing starting at $2 per million input tokens and $6 per million output tokens.

## Who reported on it

_Outlets this record can name and link, under the first-party post each one covered. Their number is `Outlets named under its posts` above, and the rows are not totalled again. A post's own `Coverage` can be higher: it counts outlets the signal saw that this record cannot name and link._

### On: Introducing Grok 4.6

Record: https://forck.live/items/4347-introducing-grok-4-6

- Fonearena — xAI introduces Grok 4.6 with long-running agents and interactive AI capabilities: https://fonearena.com/blog/489495/xai-grok-4-6-features.html
- SiliconANGLE — SpaceXAI releases flagship Grok 4.6 model with advanced reasoning capabilities: https://siliconangle.com/2026/08/12/spacexai-releases-flagship-grok-4-6-model-advanced-reasoning-capabilities

## Where it runs

_Other companies' own announcements naming Grok 4.6 and xAI — each is that company's post, not xAI's._

### Amazon — xAI’s Grok 4.6 is now available in Amazon Bedrock

- Company: Amazon (amazon.com)
- Announced: 2026-09-21T18:30:34+00:00
- Category: availability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/machine-learning/xais-grok-4-6-is-now-available-in-amazon-bedrock/
- Record: https://forck.live/items/12741-xai-s-grok-4-6-is-now-available-in-amazon-bedrock
- Subject: Bedrock / Nova

xAI's Grok 4.6 is now available in Amazon Bedrock as of August 18, 2026, accessible via both bedrock-mantle and bedrock-runtime endpoints with support for the Converse API. The model offers a 500K token context window and configurable reasoning effort at four levels, with cross-region inference options for US and global routing.

### GitHub — Grok 4.6 is now available in GitHub Copilot

- Company: GitHub (github.com)
- Announced: 2026-08-14T16:17:46+00:00
- Category: model-update
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://github.blog/changelog/2026-08-14-grok-4-6-is-now-available-in-github-copilot
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4168-grok-4-6-is-now-available-in-github-copilot
- Subject: Copilot

xAI's Grok 4.6 reasoning model is rolling out in GitHub Copilot, designed for agentic coding and complex multi-step workflows, with strong results in terminal-based coding tasks.

### Perplexity — Grok 4.6

- Company: Perplexity (perplexity.ai)
- Announced: 2026-08-13T00:04:31+00:00
- Category: capability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://docs.perplexity.ai/docs/resources/changelog#august-2026
- Record: https://forck.live/items/5060-grok-4-6
- Subject: Sonar

Perplexity's Agent API now supports xai/grok-4.6, xAI's latest flagship reasoning and agentic model.

---

Record: https://forck.live/models/grok-4-6
Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt
Current issue: https://forck.live/feed.md
