# OpenAI — gpt-oss-safeguard-20b

> AI lab announcements, news reports and podcasts.

forck.live follows what companies announce about their own products. Press may
corroborate an official story; it never leads and never appears as an item of its
own. A missing date stays missing. A title is the publisher's words — where a
company does not publish in English, an English rendering is listed separately
as `Title in English` and named as this site's translation, never as theirs.

This file is the record of one model version: what the model registry states
about it, OpenAI's launch post, the first-party posts this record
holds about it, the outlets that reported on those posts, and other companies'
announcements that it runs on their platforms. A model ranks nothing here and
nothing is composed: each date names whose it is, and a field nothing states is
`not stated` rather than missing.

- This model's page: https://forck.live/models/gpt-oss-safeguard-20b
- OpenAI's page: https://forck.live/company/openai
- Every model: https://forck.live/models
- Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt

## Model

- Name: gpt-oss-safeguard-20b
- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Launch post: gpt-oss-safeguard technical report — https://forck.live/items/404-gpt-oss-safeguard-technical-report
- Announced: 2025-10-29
- Launch source: https://openai.com/index/gpt-oss-safeguard-technical-report
- Launch chosen by: the earliest dated release post naming it
- Released (per models.dev): not stated
- Listed (per OpenRouter): 2025-10-29
- Open weights: not stated
- Posts about it: 1
- Outlets named under its posts: 0
- OpenRouter id: openai/gpt-oss-safeguard-20b — https://openrouter.ai/openai/gpt-oss-safeguard-20b

## Posts about it

_OpenAI's own posts whose title names gpt-oss-safeguard-20b, and its launch post, in the record's order: dated newest first, undated last. The record reads the newest 50 first-party posts mentioning the model, every company's together, so a model mentioned more often than that lists the newest of them._

Every entry is one first-party announcement, and carries the same eight fields
in this order before any others:

    Company · Announced · Category · Coverage · Announcement · Group · Source · Record

`Source` is the company's own page the announcement was traced to and `Record`
is this site's page for it. Both are safe to cite.

`Coverage` is a number of outlets, or `not counted` — which means this record
reached no count of its own, never that nobody wrote about it.

`Category` is this tracker's own analysis, and is authoritative wherever it is
stated. `not stated` means either that nothing has analysed the post yet or
that the analysis placed it outside this taxonomy; neither is a verdict about
the announcement.

`Announcement` is whether the post is news of something the company did, rather
than a how-to, a customer story, a changelog listing or a staffing note.

`Group` is which of this record's groups the entry falls in, carried on the
entry itself so it holds where the groups are headings and where they are not.
One of: `models`, `covered`, `announcements`, `routine`.

Anything after `Record` is held detail that only some announcements carry.

### OpenAI — gpt-oss-safeguard technical report

- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Announced: 2025-10-29
- Category: new-model
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://openai.com/index/gpt-oss-safeguard-technical-report
- Record: https://forck.live/items/404-gpt-oss-safeguard-technical-report
- Subject: GPT / ChatGPT / API

OpenAI released two open-weight reasoning models, gpt-oss-safeguard-120b and gpt-oss-safeguard-20b, post-trained from the gpt-oss models to label content under a provided policy.

## Who reported on it

_This record names no outlet that reported on these posts._

---

Record: https://forck.live/models/gpt-oss-safeguard-20b
Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt
Current issue: https://forck.live/feed.md
