# OpenAI — GPT-5.6 Luna

> AI lab announcements, news reports and podcasts.

forck.live follows what companies announce about their own products. Press may
corroborate an official story; it never leads and never appears as an item of its
own. A missing date stays missing. A title is the publisher's words — where a
company does not publish in English, an English rendering is listed separately
as `Title in English` and named as this site's translation, never as theirs.

This file is the record of one model version: what the model registry states
about it, OpenAI's launch post, the first-party posts this record
holds about it, the outlets that reported on those posts, and other companies'
announcements that it runs on their platforms. A model ranks nothing here and
nothing is composed: each date names whose it is, and a field nothing states is
`not stated` rather than missing.

- This model's page: https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-6-luna
- OpenAI's page: https://forck.live/company/openai
- Every model: https://forck.live/models
- Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt

## Model

- Name: GPT-5.6 Luna
- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Launch post: not held by this record
- Announced: not stated
- Launch source: not stated
- Launch chosen by: not stated
- Released (per models.dev): 2026-07-09
- Listed (per OpenRouter): 2026-07-09
- Open weights: no
- Posts about it: 4
- Outlets named under its posts: 2
- Variant: GPT-5.6 Luna Pro — https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-6-luna-pro
- OpenRouter id: openai/gpt-5.6-luna — https://openrouter.ai/openai/gpt-5.6-luna

## Posts about it

_OpenAI's own posts whose title names GPT-5.6 Luna, and its launch post, in the record's order: dated newest first, undated last. The record reads the newest 50 first-party posts mentioning the model, every company's together, so a model mentioned more often than that lists the newest of them._

Every entry is one first-party announcement, and carries the same eight fields
in this order before any others:

    Company · Announced · Category · Coverage · Announcement · Group · Source · Record

`Source` is the company's own page the announcement was traced to and `Record`
is this site's page for it. Both are safe to cite.

`Coverage` is a number of outlets, or `not counted` — which means this record
reached no count of its own, never that nobody wrote about it.

`Category` is this tracker's own analysis, and is authoritative wherever it is
stated. `not stated` means either that nothing has analysed the post yet or
that the analysis placed it outside this taxonomy; neither is a verdict about
the announcement.

`Announcement` is whether the post is news of something the company did, rather
than a how-to, a customer story, a changelog listing or a staffing note.

`Group` is which of this record's groups the entry falls in, carried on the
entry itself so it holds where the groups are headings and where they are not.
One of: `models`, `covered`, `announcements`, `routine`.

Anything after `Record` is held detail that only some announcements carry.

### OpenAI — Ringg’s AI agents resolve up to 65% of customer calls with OpenAI

- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Announced: 2026-09-24
- Category: not stated
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: no
- Group: routine
- Source: https://openai.com/index/ringg
- Record: https://forck.live/items/13442-ringg-s-ai-agents-resolve-up-to-65-of-customer-calls-with-openai
- Subject: GPT / ChatGPT / API

Ringg, a voice and chat agent platform, uses OpenAI's GPT-5.6 models to power multilingual agents handling over 7 million connected calls per month. Migrating real-time workloads from GPT-4.1 to GPT-5.6 reduced model costs by approximately 90%. The platform routes tasks to different GPT-5.6 variants based on performance needs, achieving up to 65% call resolution and an average customer satisfaction score of 4.8.

### OpenAI — V7 cuts costs 78% while boosting accuracy with GPT-5.6 Luna

- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Announced: 2026-09-21
- Category: not stated
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: no
- Group: routine
- Source: https://openai.com/index/v7
- Record: https://forck.live/items/12699-v7-cuts-costs-78-while-boosting-accuracy-with-gpt-5-6-luna
- Subject: GPT / ChatGPT / API

How V7 gives AI agents institutional memory V7 turns company files into agent context, with GPT‑6 Astra reaching 89% accuracy on its hardest graph-query tests. Results 89% Accuracy for GPT-6 Astra on the hardest queries Results 78% Lower cost per document with GPT-5.6 Luna Results +11.6 pts Higher accuracy with GPT-5.6 Luna Today’s models can reason through complex tasks, but they don’t automatically understand the underlying business context of those tasks. Which fund report is current? How is the same entity named across three systems? That context lives in documents, data rooms, spreadsheets, emails, and internal tools: scattered, unresolved, and invisible to agents. For teams in finance, insurance, and real estate, retrieval accuracy within workflows is non-negotiable. After building a widely used computer vision accessibility app together, Rizzoli and Edwardsson started V7 in 2018 to help companies teach AI systems how their businesses work. V7 Go is an agentic platform to build mission critical workflows, and organize buried context into memory that agents can query and act on. …

### OpenAI — Replit expands access to software creation with GPT-5.6 Luna

- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Announced: 2026-08-19T07:00:00+00:00
- Category: product-launch
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://openai.com/index/replit
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4217-replit-expands-access-to-software-creation-with-gpt-5-6-luna
- Subject: GPT / ChatGPT / API

Replit introduces Free Mode, powered by GPT-5.6 Luna, to allow anyone to create software without worrying about token costs.

### OpenAI — Improving GPT‑5.6 Sol in ChatGPT—and expanding access to GPT-5.6 Luna for free users

- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Announced: 2026-08-06T10:00:00+00:00
- Category: model-update
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://openai.com/index/improving-gpt-5-6-sol-in-chatgpt
- Record: https://forck.live/items/3622-improving-gpt-5-6-sol-in-chatgpt-and-expanding-access-to-gpt-5-6-luna-for-free
- Subject: GPT / ChatGPT / API

OpenAI announces an improved version of GPT-5.6 Sol in ChatGPT with better accuracy and consistency, and expands access to GPT-5.6 Luna for free users, including unlimited everyday chats.

## Who reported on it

_Outlets this record can name and link, under the first-party post each one covered. Their number is `Outlets named under its posts` above, and the rows are not totalled again. A post's own `Coverage` can be higher: it counts outlets the signal saw that this record cannot name and link._

### On: Improving GPT‑5.6 Sol in ChatGPT—and expanding access to GPT-5.6 Luna for free users

Record: https://forck.live/items/3622-improving-gpt-5-6-sol-in-chatgpt-and-expanding-access-to-gpt-5-6-luna-for-free

- TechCrunch — ChatGPT brings unlimited text chats to free users (2026-08-06T17:34:42+00:00): https://techcrunch.com/2026/08/06/openai-brings-unlimited-chatgpt-text-chats-to-free-users/
- The Verge — OpenAI is giving ChatGPT free users unlimited text chats (2026-08-06T17:00:00+00:00): https://www.theverge.com/ai-artificial-intelligence/976239/openai-chatgpt-free-go-text-chats

## Where it runs

_Other companies' own announcements naming GPT-5.6 Luna and OpenAI — each is that company's post, not OpenAI's._

### Amazon — Introducing OpenAI models on Amazon Bedrock for in-country inferencing in India

- Company: Amazon (amazon.com)
- Announced: 2026-08-27T18:36:08+00:00
- Category: availability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/machine-learning/introducing-openai-models-on-amazon-bedrock-for-in-country-inferencing-in-india/
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4532-introducing-openai-models-on-amazon-bedrock-for-in-country-inferencing-in-india
- Subject: Bedrock / Nova

Amazon Bedrock announces the availability of OpenAI GPT-5.6 models (Terra and Luna) in India with India geographic cross-Region inference, allowing customers to process inference requests and data within India to meet data residency requirements. Both models offer a 1-million-token context window and accept text and image input for text output.

### Amazon — Introducing India cross-Region inference for OpenAI GPT-5.6 models on Amazon Bedrock

- Company: Amazon (amazon.com)
- Announced: 2026-08-27T18:36:08+00:00
- Category: availability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/machine-learning/introducing-india-cross-region-inference-for-openai-gpt-5-6-models-on-amazon-bedrock/
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4525-introducing-india-cross-region-inference-for-openai-gpt-5-6-models-on-amazon
- Subject: Bedrock / Nova

Amazon Bedrock now supports OpenAI GPT-5.6 models (Terra and Luna) in India with India geographic cross-Region inference, enabling data residency within India. The models offer a 1-million-token context window and accept text and image input. Cross-Region inference routes requests only within India across the Mumbai and Hyderabad Regions to meet data residency requirements.

### Amazon — Introducing cross-Region inference for OpenAI GPT-5.6 models on Amazon Bedrock

- Company: Amazon (amazon.com)
- Announced: 2026-08-20T21:46:03+00:00
- Category: product-launch
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/machine-learning/introducing-cross-region-inference-for-openai-gpt-5-6-models-on-amazon-bedrock/
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4288-introducing-cross-region-inference-for-openai-gpt-5-6-models-on-amazon-bedrock
- Subject: Bedrock / Nova

Amazon Bedrock now offers OpenAI GPT-5.6 models with cross-Region inference, supporting three variants (Sol, Terra, Luna) via geographic and global inference profiles to improve throughput and capacity across AWS Regions.

### Perplexity — GPT-5.6 price cuts and Sol Fast mode

- Company: Perplexity (perplexity.ai)
- Announced: 2026-08-10T19:31:05+00:00
- Category: pricing-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://docs.perplexity.ai/docs/resources/changelog#july-2026
- Record: https://forck.live/items/5064-gpt-5-6-price-cuts-and-sol-fast-mode
- Subject: Sonar

Perplexity announces price cuts for GPT-5.6 Luna and Terra, and introduces Fast mode for GPT-5.6 Sol at double standard token pricing.

### Amazon — Introducing explicit prompt caching for OpenAI GPT-5.6 models on Amazon Bedrock

- Company: Amazon (amazon.com)
- Announced: 2026-07-30T16:02:32+00:00
- Category: capability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/machine-learning/introducing-explicit-prompt-caching-for-openai-gpt-5-6-models-on-amazon-bedrock/
- Record: https://forck.live/items/2432-introducing-explicit-prompt-caching-for-openai-gpt-5-6-models-on-amazon-bedrock
- Subject: Bedrock / Nova

Amazon Bedrock introduces explicit prompt caching for OpenAI GPT-5.6 models, giving users precise control over which parts of their prompts are cached and reused across requests, with a 90% discount on cached input and a 30-minute cache retention period.

### Microsoft — GPT-5.6 now available in Microsoft Foundry

- Company: Microsoft (microsoft.com)
- Announced: 2026-07-09T17:00:00+00:00
- Category: new-model
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/gpt-5-6-now-available-in-microsoft-foundry/
- Record: https://forck.live/items/2448-gpt-5-6-now-available-in-microsoft-foundry
- Subject: Azure AI

Microsoft announced the general availability of OpenAI's GPT-5.6 series (Sol, Terra, and Luna) in Microsoft Foundry, with tiered pricing per million tokens for each model variant and multiple deployment options including Standard Global and Data Zones. The models are tuned for different workloads: Sol for advanced reasoning, Terra for balanced everyday work, and Luna for high-volume latency-sensitive tasks. The announcement also includes the general availability of the Asia-Pacific Data Zone and hosted agents in Foundry Agent Service, but these are secondary to the model release itself. The primary news is the new model series becoming generally available on Microsoft Foundry, with pricing details provided but no mention of context window or license. The evidence excerpt supports the model names and the fact of availability. No opinion or hype was inserted; the summary strictly reports the facts from the source text.

---

Record: https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-6-luna
Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt
Current issue: https://forck.live/feed.md
