# OpenAI — GPT-5.4

> AI lab announcements, news reports and podcasts.

forck.live follows what companies announce about their own products. Press may
corroborate an official story; it never leads and never appears as an item of its
own. A missing date stays missing. A title is the publisher's words — where a
company does not publish in English, an English rendering is listed separately
as `Title in English` and named as this site's translation, never as theirs.

This file is the record of one model version: what the model registry states
about it, OpenAI's launch post, the first-party posts this record
holds about it, the outlets that reported on those posts, and other companies'
announcements that it runs on their platforms. A model ranks nothing here and
nothing is composed: each date names whose it is, and a field nothing states is
`not stated` rather than missing.

- This model's page: https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-4
- OpenAI's page: https://forck.live/company/openai
- Every model: https://forck.live/models
- Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt

## Model

- Name: GPT-5.4
- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Launch post: Introducing GPT-5.4 — https://forck.live/items/241-introducing-gpt-5-4
- Announced: 2026-03-05T10:00:00+00:00
- Launch source: https://openai.com/index/introducing-gpt-5-4
- Launch chosen by: a person, pinned in the model registry
- Released (per models.dev): 2026-03-05
- Listed (per OpenRouter): 2026-03-05
- Open weights: no
- Posts about it: 1
- Outlets named under its posts: 0
- Variant: GPT-5.4 Image 2 — https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-4-image-2
- Variant: GPT-5.4 Nano — https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-4-nano
- Variant: GPT-5.4 Mini — https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-4-mini
- Variant: GPT-5.4 Pro — https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-4-pro
- OpenRouter id: openai/gpt-5.4 — https://openrouter.ai/openai/gpt-5.4
- Context window: 1M-token context — from https://forck.live/items/241-introducing-gpt-5-4

## Posts about it

_OpenAI's own posts whose title names GPT-5.4, and its launch post, in the record's order: dated newest first, undated last. The record reads the newest 50 first-party posts mentioning the model, every company's together, so a model mentioned more often than that lists the newest of them._

Every entry is one first-party announcement, and carries the same eight fields
in this order before any others:

    Company · Announced · Category · Coverage · Announcement · Group · Source · Record

`Source` is the company's own page the announcement was traced to and `Record`
is this site's page for it. Both are safe to cite.

`Coverage` is a number of outlets, or `not counted` — which means this record
reached no count of its own, never that nobody wrote about it.

`Category` is this tracker's own analysis, and is authoritative wherever it is
stated. `not stated` means either that nothing has analysed the post yet or
that the analysis placed it outside this taxonomy; neither is a verdict about
the announcement.

`Announcement` is whether the post is news of something the company did, rather
than a how-to, a customer story, a changelog listing or a staffing note.

`Group` is which of this record's groups the entry falls in, carried on the
entry itself so it holds where the groups are headings and where they are not.
One of: `models`, `covered`, `announcements`, `routine`.

Anything after `Record` is held detail that only some announcements carry.

### OpenAI — Introducing GPT-5.4

- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Announced: 2026-03-05T10:00:00+00:00
- Category: new-model
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://openai.com/index/introducing-gpt-5-4
- Record: https://forck.live/items/241-introducing-gpt-5-4
- Subject: GPT / ChatGPT / API

OpenAI announces GPT-5.4, a frontier model with state-of-the-art coding, computer use, tool search, and a 1M-token context window.

## Who reported on it

_This record names no outlet that reported on these posts._

## Where it runs

_Other companies' own announcements naming GPT-5.4 and OpenAI — each is that company's post, not OpenAI's._

### Perplexity — Upcoming retirement of older OpenAI models

- Company: Perplexity (perplexity.ai)
- Announced: 2026-09-25T14:34:21+00:00
- Category: deprecation
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://docs.perplexity.ai/docs/resources/changelog#september-2026
- Record: https://forck.live/items/13876-upcoming-retirement-of-older-openai-models
- Subject: Sonar

On October 24, 2026 at 00:00 UTC, the Agent API and Orchestrator API will retire these model IDs openai/gpt-5.4 openai/gpt-5.4-mini openai/gpt-5.4-nano openai/gpt-5.2 openai/gpt-5.1 openai/gpt-5 openai/gpt-5-mini Update direct model selections and fallback chains before the cutoff. The models remain available until then. After the cutoff, the retired IDs will no longer be accepted or returned by model-list endpoints. For new integrations, choose a current OpenAI model in the Agent API Models reference .

### Lovable — Testing GPT-5.5 in early access: what we are seeing so far

- Company: Lovable (lovable.dev)
- Announced: 2026-04-24T14:30:00+00:00
- Category: model-update
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://lovable.dev/blog/gpt-5-5-now-in-lovable
- Record: https://forck.live/items/12087-testing-gpt-5-5-in-early-access-what-we-are-seeing-so-far
- Subject: Lovable / AI app builder

Lovable tested GPT-5.5 in early access and reports it outperforms GPT-5.4 on complex tasks, with a 12.5% improvement on the hardest benchmark at the same cost, 23.1% fewer tool calls per request, and 9.9% higher likelihood of resolving blocking tasks. The model is described as more cost-efficient and better at unblocking builders during stalled build sessions.

### Databricks — Databricks partners with OpenAI on GPT-5.5

- Company: Databricks (databricks.com)
- Announced: 2026-04-23T23:00:00+00:00
- Category: partnership-acquisition
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://www.databricks.com/blog/databricks-partners-openai-gpt-55
- Record: https://forck.live/items/25348-databricks-partners-with-openai-on-gpt-5-5
- Subject: Mosaic AI

Databricks is partnering with OpenAI to bring GPT-5.5, OpenAI's latest frontier model, to Databricks, where it will be governed through Unity AI Gateway. Databricks says GPT-5.5 is OpenAI's strongest frontier model for agentic work in enterprise, complex document reasoning and long-horizon coding agents, and that it now powers Codex, OpenAI's coding agent. On OfficeQA Pro with Oracle PDF and web search, GPT-5.5 scored 64.66%, up from GPT-5.4's 57.14%, which Databricks calls a new state of the art on the benchmark. In the full-agent OfficeQA Pro Agent Harness eval, where the model finds and parses documents itself using the Codex agent harness, GPT-5.5 scored 52.63% against GPT-5.4's 36.10%, a 46% reduction in errors. Databricks says the model can write and debug code, research online, analyze data, create documents and spreadsheets, and operate software across tools until a task is finished. GPT-5.5 and Codex are coming soon to Databricks.

### Amp — GPT‐5.4 in Deep

- Company: Amp (ampcode.com)
- Announced: 2026-03-26
- Category: model-update
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://ampcode.com/news/gpt-5.4
- Record: https://forck.live/items/7753-gpt-5-4-in-deep
- Subject: Amp

Amp announced that GPT-5.4 now powers its deep mode. The model was tuned to behave like GPT-5.3-Codex and is faster and better at coding. Users can access it via the command palette or editor extension, with options for deep^2 and deep^3 reasoning levels.

### Harvey — GPT-5.4, Now Live in Harvey

- Company: Harvey (harvey.ai)
- Announced: 2026-03-05T18:00:00+00:00
- Category: availability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://www.harvey.ai/blog/gpt-5-4-now-live-in-harvey
- Record: https://forck.live/items/17602-gpt-5-4-now-live-in-harvey
- Subject: Harvey

Harvey made GPT-5.4 available in its platform. The model, OpenAI's latest frontier model, scored 91.0% on Harvey's BigLaw Bench evaluation suite, up from GPT-5.2's 89.8%, with perfect scores on risk assessment and compliance tasks. It will roll out to eligible US and EU clients in the coming days, with AU availability to follow.

### Amp — GPT-5.4, The New Oracle

- Company: Amp (ampcode.com)
- Announced: 2026-03-05
- Category: model-update
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://ampcode.com/news/gpt-5.4-the-new-oracle
- Record: https://forck.live/items/7754-gpt-5-4-the-new-oracle
- Subject: Amp

Amp introduced GPT-5.4 as an oracle in its smart mode, complementing Opus 4.6, and also added it to deep mode alongside GPT-5.3-Codex. Internal evaluations show improvement in response quality and reduced latency compared to GPT-5.2.

---

Record: https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-4
Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt
Current issue: https://forck.live/feed.md
