# OpenAI — GPT-5.4 Mini

> AI lab announcements, news reports and podcasts.

forck.live follows what companies announce about their own products. Press may
corroborate an official story; it never leads and never appears as an item of its
own. A missing date stays missing. A title is the publisher's words — where a
company does not publish in English, an English rendering is listed separately
as `Title in English` and named as this site's translation, never as theirs.

This file is the record of one model version: what the model registry states
about it, OpenAI's launch post, the first-party posts this record
holds about it, the outlets that reported on those posts, and other companies'
announcements that it runs on their platforms. A model ranks nothing here and
nothing is composed: each date names whose it is, and a field nothing states is
`not stated` rather than missing.

- This model's page: https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-4-mini
- OpenAI's page: https://forck.live/company/openai
- Every model: https://forck.live/models
- Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt

## Model

- Name: GPT-5.4 Mini
- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Launch post: Introducing GPT-5.4 mini and nano — https://forck.live/items/227-introducing-gpt-5-4-mini-and-nano
- Announced: 2026-03-17T10:00:00+00:00
- Launch source: https://openai.com/index/introducing-gpt-5-4-mini-and-nano
- Launch chosen by: a person, pinned in the model registry
- Released (per models.dev): 2026-03-17
- Listed (per OpenRouter): 2026-03-17
- Open weights: no
- Posts about it: 1
- Outlets named under its posts: 0
- Variant of: GPT-5.4 — https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-4
- OpenRouter id: openai/gpt-5.4-mini — https://openrouter.ai/openai/gpt-5.4-mini

## Posts about it

_OpenAI's own posts whose title names GPT-5.4 Mini, and its launch post, in the record's order: dated newest first, undated last. The record reads the newest 50 first-party posts mentioning the model, every company's together, so a model mentioned more often than that lists the newest of them._

Every entry is one first-party announcement, and carries the same eight fields
in this order before any others:

    Company · Announced · Category · Coverage · Announcement · Group · Source · Record

`Source` is the company's own page the announcement was traced to and `Record`
is this site's page for it. Both are safe to cite.

`Coverage` is a number of outlets, or `not counted` — which means this record
reached no count of its own, never that nobody wrote about it.

`Category` is this tracker's own analysis, and is authoritative wherever it is
stated. `not stated` means either that nothing has analysed the post yet or
that the analysis placed it outside this taxonomy; neither is a verdict about
the announcement.

`Announcement` is whether the post is news of something the company did, rather
than a how-to, a customer story, a changelog listing or a staffing note.

`Group` is which of this record's groups the entry falls in, carried on the
entry itself so it holds where the groups are headings and where they are not.
One of: `models`, `covered`, `announcements`, `routine`.

Anything after `Record` is held detail that only some announcements carry.

### OpenAI — Introducing GPT-5.4 mini and nano

- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Announced: 2026-03-17T10:00:00+00:00
- Category: new-model
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://openai.com/index/introducing-gpt-5-4-mini-and-nano
- Record: https://forck.live/items/227-introducing-gpt-5-4-mini-and-nano
- Subject: GPT / ChatGPT / API

OpenAI introduces GPT-5.4 mini and nano, smaller and faster versions of GPT-5.4 optimized for coding, tool use, multimodal reasoning, and high-volume API and sub-agent workloads.

## Who reported on it

_This record names no outlet that reported on these posts._

## Where it runs

_Other companies' own announcements naming GPT-5.4 Mini and OpenAI — each is that company's post, not OpenAI's._

### Perplexity — Upcoming retirement of older OpenAI models

- Company: Perplexity (perplexity.ai)
- Announced: 2026-09-25T14:34:21+00:00
- Category: deprecation
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://docs.perplexity.ai/docs/resources/changelog#september-2026
- Record: https://forck.live/items/13876-upcoming-retirement-of-older-openai-models
- Subject: Sonar

On October 24, 2026 at 00:00 UTC, the Agent API and Orchestrator API will retire these model IDs openai/gpt-5.4 openai/gpt-5.4-mini openai/gpt-5.4-nano openai/gpt-5.2 openai/gpt-5.1 openai/gpt-5 openai/gpt-5-mini Update direct model selections and fallback chains before the cutoff. The models remain available until then. After the cutoff, the retired IDs will no longer be accepted or returned by model-list endpoints. For new integrations, choose a current OpenAI model in the Agent API Models reference .

---

Record: https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-4-mini
Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt
Current issue: https://forck.live/feed.md
