# OpenAI — GPT-5.1-Codex-Max

> AI lab announcements, news reports and podcasts.

forck.live follows what companies announce about their own products. Press may
corroborate an official story; it never leads and never appears as an item of its
own. A missing date stays missing. A title is the publisher's words — where a
company does not publish in English, an English rendering is listed separately
as `Title in English` and named as this site's translation, never as theirs.

This file is the record of one model version: what the model registry states
about it, OpenAI's launch post, the first-party posts this record
holds about it, the outlets that reported on those posts, and other companies'
announcements that it runs on their platforms. A model ranks nothing here and
nothing is composed: each date names whose it is, and a field nothing states is
`not stated` rather than missing.

- This model's page: https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-1-codex-max
- OpenAI's page: https://forck.live/company/openai
- Every model: https://forck.live/models
- Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt

## Model

- Name: GPT-5.1-Codex-Max
- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Launch post: GPT-5.1-Codex-Max System Card — https://forck.live/items/376-gpt-5-1-codex-max-system-card
- Announced: 2025-11-19
- Launch source: https://openai.com/index/gpt-5-1-codex-max-system-card
- Launch chosen by: the earliest dated release post naming it
- Released (per models.dev): not stated
- Listed (per OpenRouter): 2025-12-04
- Open weights: not stated
- Posts about it: 2
- Outlets named under its posts: 0
- Variant of: GPT-5.1-Codex — https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-1-codex
- OpenRouter id: openai/gpt-5.1-codex-max — https://openrouter.ai/openai/gpt-5.1-codex-max

## Posts about it

_OpenAI's own posts whose title names GPT-5.1-Codex-Max, and its launch post, in the record's order: dated newest first, undated last. The record reads the newest 50 first-party posts mentioning the model, every company's together, so a model mentioned more often than that lists the newest of them._

Every entry is one first-party announcement, and carries the same eight fields
in this order before any others:

    Company · Announced · Category · Coverage · Announcement · Group · Source · Record

`Source` is the company's own page the announcement was traced to and `Record`
is this site's page for it. Both are safe to cite.

`Coverage` is a number of outlets, or `not counted` — which means this record
reached no count of its own, never that nobody wrote about it.

`Category` is this tracker's own analysis, and is authoritative wherever it is
stated. `not stated` means either that nothing has analysed the post yet or
that the analysis placed it outside this taxonomy; neither is a verdict about
the announcement.

`Announcement` is whether the post is news of something the company did, rather
than a how-to, a customer story, a changelog listing or a staffing note.

`Group` is which of this record's groups the entry falls in, carried on the
entry itself so it holds where the groups are headings and where they are not.
One of: `models`, `covered`, `announcements`, `routine`.

Anything after `Record` is held detail that only some announcements carry.

### OpenAI — Building more with GPT-5.1-Codex-Max

- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Announced: 2025-11-19
- Category: new-model
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: no
- Group: routine
- Source: https://openai.com/index/gpt-5-1-codex-max
- Record: https://forck.live/items/377-building-more-with-gpt-5-1-codex-max
- Subject: GPT / ChatGPT / API

OpenAI announced GPT-5.1-Codex-Max, a new coding model for Codex with improved speed, intelligence, reasoning, and token efficiency.

### OpenAI — GPT-5.1-Codex-Max System Card

- Company: OpenAI (openai.com)
- Announced: 2025-11-19
- Category: new-model
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://openai.com/index/gpt-5-1-codex-max-system-card
- Record: https://forck.live/items/376-gpt-5-1-codex-max-system-card
- Subject: GPT / ChatGPT / API

OpenAI published a system card for GPT‑5.1-CodexMax, describing safety measures including model-level mitigations and product-level mitigations.

## Who reported on it

_This record names no outlet that reported on these posts._

---

Record: https://forck.live/models/gpt-5-1-codex-max
Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt
Current issue: https://forck.live/feed.md
