# DeepSeek — DeepSeek-V4-Pro

> AI lab announcements, news reports and podcasts.

forck.live follows what companies announce about their own products. Press may
corroborate an official story; it never leads and never appears as an item of its
own. A missing date stays missing. A title is the publisher's words — where a
company does not publish in English, an English rendering is listed separately
as `Title in English` and named as this site's translation, never as theirs.

This file is the record of one model version: what the model registry states
about it, DeepSeek's launch post, the first-party posts this record
holds about it, the outlets that reported on those posts, and other companies'
announcements that it runs on their platforms. A model ranks nothing here and
nothing is composed: each date names whose it is, and a field nothing states is
`not stated` rather than missing.

- This model's page: https://forck.live/models/deepseek-v4-pro
- DeepSeek's page: https://forck.live/company/deepseek
- Every model: https://forck.live/models
- Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt

## Model

- Name: DeepSeek-V4-Pro
- Company: DeepSeek (deepseek.com)
- Launch post: DeepSeek-V4 Preview: Entering the Era of Affordable Million-Token Context — https://forck.live/items/4319-deepseek-v4-preview-entering-the-era-of-affordable-million-token-context
- Announced: 2026-04-24
- Launch source: https://www.deepseek.com/en/news/v4-preview
- Launch chosen by: the earliest dated release post naming it
- Released (per models.dev): not stated
- Listed (per OpenRouter): 2026-04-24
- Open weights: yes
- Posts about it: 2
- Outlets named under its posts: 0
- Also written: DeepSeek V4 Pro 0423
- Variant: DeepSeek V4 Pro 0813 — https://forck.live/models/deepseek-v4-pro-0813
- OpenRouter id: deepseek/deepseek-v4-pro — https://openrouter.ai/deepseek/deepseek-v4-pro
- Licence: open-sourced — from https://forck.live/items/4319-deepseek-v4-preview-entering-the-era-of-affordable-million-token-context
- Context window: 1M context — from https://forck.live/items/4319-deepseek-v4-preview-entering-the-era-of-affordable-million-token-context
- Price: Off-peak rates are 50% lower than peak — from https://forck.live/items/9194-deepseek-v4-pro-ga-release-2026-08-13

## Posts about it

_DeepSeek's own posts whose title names DeepSeek-V4-Pro, and its launch post, in the record's order: dated newest first, undated last. The record reads the newest 50 first-party posts mentioning the model, every company's together, so a model mentioned more often than that lists the newest of them._

Every entry is one first-party announcement, and carries the same eight fields
in this order before any others:

    Company · Announced · Category · Coverage · Announcement · Group · Source · Record

`Source` is the company's own page the announcement was traced to and `Record`
is this site's page for it. Both are safe to cite.

`Coverage` is a number of outlets, or `not counted` — which means this record
reached no count of its own, never that nobody wrote about it.

`Category` is this tracker's own analysis, and is authoritative wherever it is
stated. `not stated` means either that nothing has analysed the post yet or
that the analysis placed it outside this taxonomy; neither is a verdict about
the announcement.

`Announcement` is whether the post is news of something the company did, rather
than a how-to, a customer story, a changelog listing or a staffing note.

`Group` is which of this record's groups the entry falls in, carried on the
entry itself so it holds where the groups are headings and where they are not.
One of: `models`, `covered`, `announcements`, `routine`.

Anything after `Record` is held detail that only some announcements carry.

### DeepSeek — DeepSeek-V4-Pro GA Release 2026/08/13

- Company: DeepSeek (deepseek.com)
- Announced: 2026-08-13
- Category: model-update
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://api-docs.deepseek.com/news/news260813
- Record: https://forck.live/items/9194-deepseek-v4-pro-ga-release-2026-08-13
- Subject: DeepSeek models

DeepSeek launched DeepSeek-V4-Pro with major agent upgrades, flexible reasoning effort levels, and native OpenAI Responses API support. The model is available on app/web and via API. API pricing is updated with peak and off-peak rates, effective August 16, 2026.

### DeepSeek — DeepSeek-V4 Preview: Entering the Era of Affordable Million-Token Context

- Company: DeepSeek (deepseek.com)
- Announced: 2026-04-24
- Category: new-model
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://www.deepseek.com/en/news/v4-preview
- Record: https://forck.live/items/4319-deepseek-v4-preview-entering-the-era-of-affordable-million-token-context
- Subject: DeepSeek models

DeepSeek announces the preview release of DeepSeek-V4, including two models: V4-Pro (1.6T total / 49B active params) and V4-Flash (284B total / 13B active params), both open-sourced with a default 1M context window. The models feature enhanced agentic capabilities, world-class reasoning, and structural innovations for long-context efficiency. The API is updated and available today, and the older deepseek-chat and deepseek-reasoner models will be retired after July 24, 2026.

## Who reported on it

_This record names no outlet that reported on these posts._

## Where it runs

_Other companies' own announcements naming DeepSeek-V4-Pro and DeepSeek — each is that company's post, not DeepSeek's._

### Perplexity — Older models removed from the model docs; GPT-6 Astra and DeepSeek V4 Pro added

- Company: Perplexity (perplexity.ai)
- Announced: 2026-10-17T11:16:37+00:00
- Category: availability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://docs.perplexity.ai/docs/resources/changelog#october-2026
- Record: https://forck.live/items/23831-older-models-removed-from-the-model-docs-gpt-6-astra-and-deepseek-v4-pro-added
- Subject: Sonar

Perplexity has removed 14 older models from its Agent API documentation and pricing calculator, including several Claude, Gemini, and Grok variants, while adding OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra and its own DeepSeek V4 Pro. The removed models span Anthropic's Claude Opus 4-8 through Haiku 4-5, Google's Gemini 3 Flash Preview through 3.5 Flash Lite, and xAI's Grok 4.3 through 4.20 Multi-Agent. Perplexity recommends replacing them with newer versions such as Claude Opus 5-5, Gemini 4 Argon, or Grok 4.7. The newly listed GPT-6 Astra costs $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens, while DeepSeek V4 Pro is priced at $1.32 per million input tokens and is also available through the Orchestrator API.

### Vercel — DeepSeek enters the fight for token volume, Anthropic continues to dominate spend

- Company: Vercel (vercel.com)
- Announced: 2026-06-08T04:00:00+00:00
- Category: research-paper
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://vercel.com/blog/ai-gateway-production-index-june-2026
- Record: https://forck.live/items/20706-deepseek-enters-the-fight-for-token-volume-anthropic-continues-to-dominate-spend
- Subject: v0 / AI SDK / AI Gateway

Vercel's AI Gateway data for May 2026 shows DeepSeek's token share jumped from under 1% to 17% in one month, while its spend share stayed near 1%. Anthropic's spend share grew from 61% to 65%, holding 70–80% of spend across high-stakes use cases. Total tokens grew 20% month-over-month and total spend grew 43%, with customers paying almost 20% more per token on average.

### Together AI — DeepSeek-V4 Pro now available on Together AI

- Company: Together AI (together.ai)
- Announced: 2026-04-29
- Category: availability-change
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: announcements
- Source: https://www.together.ai/blog/deepseek-v4-pro-now-available-on-together-ai
- Record: https://forck.live/items/2354-deepseek-v4-pro-now-available-on-together-ai
- Subject: Inference platform

DeepSeek V4 Pro is now available on Together AI with a 512K-token context window, using a 1.6T-parameter MoE architecture with 49B activated parameters, supporting three reasoning modes (Non-Think, Think High, Think Max), and priced at $2.10 per 1M input tokens, $0.20 per 1M cached input tokens, and $4.40 per 1M output tokens. DeepSeek-V4 Flash is coming soon.

### Hugging Face — DeepSeek-V4: a million-token context that agents can actually use

- Company: Hugging Face (huggingface.co)
- Announced: 2026-04-24
- Category: new-model
- Coverage: not counted
- Announcement: yes
- Group: models
- Source: https://huggingface.co/blog/deepseekv4
- Record: https://forck.live/items/1512-deepseek-v4-a-million-token-context-that-agents-can-actually-use
- Subject: Platform

DeepSeek released two new MoE models, DeepSeek-V4-Pro (1.6T parameters, 49B active) and DeepSeek-V4-Flash (284B parameters, 13B active), both with a 1M-token context window. The models are designed for efficient long-context inference and agentic tasks, featuring hybrid attention (CSA and HCA) that reduces FLOPs and KV cache memory, plus post-training improvements for multi-turn tool use.

---

Record: https://forck.live/models/deepseek-v4-pro
Catalogue: https://forck.live/llms.txt
Current issue: https://forck.live/feed.md
